$107M Navy contract awarded to Huntington Ingalls

Huntington Ingalls Pascagoula
Aerial view of HII’s Ingalls Shipbuilding division in Pascagoula, Mississippi, taken in June 2017. Ingalls is the only U.S. shipyard currently building four classes of military ships: amphibious assault ships (LHAs), amphibious transport docks (LPDs), guided missile destroyers (DDGs) and National Security Cutters (NSCs). Photo by Lance Davis/HII

It has been announced that a $107,194,022 Navy contract has been awarded to Huntington Ingalls in Pascagoula.

The contract will be used to purchase long-lead time materials in advance of the construction of LHA 9, an America-class amphibious assault ship.

“The talented shipbuilders at Ingalls build some of the world’s finest ships for our U.S. Navy fleet,” Senator Roger Wicker said. “This new award is a down payment on the construction of LHA 9, the third of a new generation of amphibious assault ships that will enhance our Sailors’ and Marines’ ability to project power around the globe.”

“Utilizing advanced appropriations funding to procure long-lead-time materials for the LHA 9 allows Ingalls shipbuilders to work undeterred in our effort to provide the Navy with the ships it needs,” Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith, a member of the Senate Appropriations Committee, commented. “I’m pleased to see this contract issued now as we begin the FY2022 process of funding future shipbuilding needs.”

The purpose of the America-class amphibious assault ships is to deliver a Marine Expeditionary Unit using rotary lift and fixed winged aircraft, ultimately functioning like a smaller aircraft carrier.


Written by J.T. Mitchell

J.T. Mitchell is a multimedia journalist out of Jackson, Mississippi, who worked extensively for both News Mississippi and SuperTalk Mississippi before coming aboard as editor in chief for Our Mississippi Home. He is also the author of Pocket Grammar: 24 Mistakes You'll Never Make Again. J.T. received his education from The University of the South in Sewanee, Tennessee, where he studied both English and philosophy. Contact J.T. at [email protected]

What do you think?


Leave a Reply



Magnolia Soap and Bath Company’s Homemade Success

Jackson County Wants Input on Parks & Recreation Master Plan