in ,

Class 4A All-State: Moss Point’s Brown tops defense

December 10, 2022: Mississippi All-Stars Jamarious Brown (Moss Point) (91) during the 2022 Mississippi-Alabama High School All-Star game at Hancock-Whitney Stadium, Mobile, Alabama. Photo: Bobby McDuffie/228 Sports

The Mississippi High School Activities Association recently released its annual All-State teams as selected by member coaches in all six classifications in the state.

The “Southern Six” was well represented in all of the top three classifications, 6A-4A, and actually produced the “Overall” Player of the Year in the top two classifications as well as the Defensive Player of the year in Class 4A.

Moss Point’s Jamarious Brown, an Ole Miss commit, was named the Defensive Player of the Year in Class 4A. The 6-3, 265-pound defensive end was a multi-positional player for the Tigers his senior season, working as a running back, linebacker and pass rusher.

Brown earned a spot on The Clarion Ledger‘s 2022 Football Dandy Dozen list, becoming the first Moss Point player to earn that distinction with a spot on the prestigious list since defensive lineman Willie Packer in 2007.

The national recruiting service “Rivals” said of Brown this season “Brown can play all over the defensive front and has a chance to carve out a big role in Oxford.”

Another recruiting service, On3, rates Brown higher than other recruiting services. They have him as the No. 110 overall prospect, No. 12 defensive lineman and No. 2 player in Mississippi.

“Fluid, explosive jumbo athlete who has grown into a defensive lineman. Has played all over the field for his high school seeing snaps as a pass rusher, defensive tackle and running back. Added significant mass between his sophomore and junior seasons and looks destined to play on the defensive interior in college. Moves very well at his size. Carries the size well and moves with the fluidity of a smaller player.” On3 says. “Creates disruption with his first step and closing speed. Delivers crushing blocks on offensive and shows his athleticism as a ball carrier. Finished with 16 tackles for loss and 5 sacks as a junior. Also throws the shot put. Height is unverified. Will need to hone his technical skills as a defensive lineman at the next level.”

MHSAA CLASS 4A All-State Teams

Coach of the Year: Tyrone Shorter, Louisville

Overall/Offensive Player of the Year: Isaac Smith, RB, Sr., Itawamba AHS

Defensive Player of the Year: Jamarious Brown, DE, Sr., Moss Point

First Team Offense

Ty Davis, QB, Sr., Itawamba AHS

Keeghan Rodgers, RB, Sr., Forrest Co. AHS

Avan Jarvis, RB, Sr., Poplarville

Jamal Cooperwood, RB, Sr., Houston

Zion Ashby, WR, Sr., Itawamba AHS

Chasden Collins, WR, Sr., Stone

Thomas Kline, TE, Sr., Itawamba AHS

Kane Edwards, OL, Sr., Poplarville

Zach Simpson, OL, Sr., West Lauderdale

Paxton George, OL, Sr., West Lauderdale

Landon Fillingame, OL, Sr., Columbia

Andrew Morgan, OL, Sr., Itawamba AHS

Darius Dampier, ATH, Sr., Mendenhall

Kaden Padgett, PK, So., Northeast Jones

First Team Defense

Brandon Watkins, DE, Sr., Houston

Gabriel Moore, DE, Sr., Louisville

Cameron Mackey, DL, Sr., Clarksdale

Alex Larry, DL, Sr., Greenwood

Jordan Gowdy, LB, Sr., West Lauderdale

Nakiel Trotter, LB, Sr. Poplarville

Chris Rodgers, LB, Sr., Corinth

D.J. Cloyd, LB, Sr., Columbia

Christopher Savior, DB, Sr., Louisville

Pat Broomfield, DB, Jr., Clarksdale

Chance Barron, SS, Sr., Mendenhall

Kelley Jones, FS, Sr., Clarksdale

Eli Burciaca, P, Jr., Corinth

Chris Davis, KR, Sr., Mendenhall

Bryce Chrestman, LS, Sr., Pontotoc

Second Team Offense

Tayton James, QB, Jr., Mendenhall

Maurice Travis, RB, Sr., Poplarville

Ahmad Hardy, RB, Jr., Lawrence County

K.J. Miller, RB, Sr., Greene County

Jarkea Reed, WR, Sr., Leake Central

Sanfrisco Magee, WR, Jr., McComb

Layth Holiday, WR, Sr., Itawamba AHS

Will Echoles, OL, Jr., Houston

Isaiah Autry, OL, Jr., Itawamba AHS

Mitchell Butler, OL, Sr., NE Lauderdale

Ethan Morgan, OL, Sr., Itawamba AHS

Deshawn Feazell, OL. So., Moss Point

Keyarrion Jackson, ATH, Sr., Louisville

Eddie Nolasco, PK, Sr., Pontotoc

Second Team Defense

Markquise King, DE, Sr., Mendenhall

C.C. Herrien, DE, Sr., Stone

Tucker Smith, DL, Sr., Poplarville

Chvarius Garrett, DL, Sr., Senatobia

Davin Chung, LB, Jr., Mendenhall

Kendon Sanders, LB, Jr., Louisville

Demontrea King, LB, Sr., North Pike

Kebian Gilmore, LB, Jr., Clarksdale

Javon Haynes, DB, Sr., McComb

Willie Breland, DB, Jr., Stone

Michael Turner, SS, Jr., Ripley

Kenneth Hill, FS, Jr., Louisville

Kye Braddock, P, Sr., Northeast Jones

Martavion Sanders, KR, Sr., North Pike

Jake Brawner, LS, Sr., Corinth


Written by Curtis Rockwell

Curtis has almost three decades of experience at four different daily newspapers across South Mississippi, specializing in Sports and live Music.


Leave a Reply

What do you think?

Grammy Award nominee Marcia Ball is returning to Pascagoula

Remembering the Shrimp Bowl Classic, the granddaddy of them all