62.89 F
December 3, 2020

Mississippi State Department of Art Students Receive Local, Regional Advertising Awards

Thirteen students in Mississippi State’s Department of Art are being applauded for honors received from the American Advertising Federation.

The students won gold and silver awards at the local Tuscaloosa ADDY Awards Gala earlier this semester and went on to compete in the District 7 competition against all 19 AAF chapters in Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee.

Junior Hannah G. Chapman of Madison won a district Gold Award for her project, “Mashine Speakeasy,” which now moves on to be judged in the AAF national awards competition.

Students completed their work in Assistant Professor Claire Gipson’s fall 2019 Advertising Design I and Assistant Professor Cassie Hester’s fall 2019 Typography I courses.

“Professor Gipson and I are proud of the students,” Hester said. “We also wish Hannah Chapman luck as her project is judged at the national level.”

Formerly the ADDYs, American Advertising Awards recognize creativity and excellence in the field. AAF Tuscaloosa is one of 210 member clubs across the nation; there are 14 district competitions with winners proceeding to the national finals.


MSU’s 2020 American Advertising Federation Tuscaloosa AAA winners include (by hometown):

ALPHARETTA, Georgia—Junior Madison E.R. “Maddie” Rosenbaum, Gold Award for “Mason”

BROOKHAVEN—Senior Amber E. McDonald, Silver Award for “Krok”

FLORENCE—Senior Meghan A. Norman, Gold Award for “Jeanne’s Bakery”

FLOWOOD—Senior Stephen C. Latham, Silver Award for “Valspar”

FRANKLIN, Tennessee—Junior Morgan E. Pearce, Silver Award for “Carilliantine”

GREENVILLE—Senior Darius S. Amos, Silver Award for “Orbe Pizzeria”

ITTA BENA—Senior Anna Claire Garrard, Silver Award for “Bungee Diner”

JACKSON—Senior Tommie Jo N. “TJ” Barnett, Silver Award for “Parlay”

MADISON— Junior Hannah G. Chapman, Gold Award for “Mashine Speakeasy”; and senior Amanda L. “Mandy” Schemmel, Gold Award and a Judge’s Choice Award for “Siracha”

RIDGELAND—Senior Claire B. Crutcher, Silver Award for “Epitaph”

SALTILLO—Senior Savannah M. Alley, Silver Award for “Blockhead Food Truck”; and junior Alexandra E. “Alex” Herring, Silver Award for “Brüno’s”

Learn more about MSU’s College of Architecture, Art and Design and its Department of Art at www.caad.msstate.edu/art and on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram @CAADatMSU.

MSU is Mississippi’s leading university, available online at www.msstate.edu.

Related posts

Supporting Students for Success


Old School Learning Depot Equips Educators & Students


Bridgett Parker Named as Trent Lott Academy Teacher of the Year

Mimi Bosarge

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More