in , , ,

Prep Volleyball: 13 players and a coach in the “Southern 6” earn All-State honors

Resurrection's Sophie Sisson helped lead the Lady Eagles to the Class 1A state championship match this season. (228 Sports/Kerry Bass)

Thirteen players and one head coach from the “Southern Six’ were honored recently with All-State status as announced by the Mississippi Association of Coaches.

Our Lady Academy head coach Emily Corley was honored with the top award in Class 3A after her squad captured the 2022 state championship. Also, a trio of Lady Crescents earned Class 3A All-State honors as Myah Favre, Avery Matheson and Annalaura Williford all of OLA were selected.

Resurrections Amelia Kate Frederic, just a junior, was selected Class 1A All-State. (Kerry Bass/228 Sports)

In Class 1A, South State champion Resurrection also had three players earn All-State status as Sophie Sisson, Haley Callahan, and Amelia Kate Fredric were all honored. The Lady Eagles fell in the Class 1A state championship match to Ingomar.

Resurrection’s Haley Callahan was one of a trio of Lady Eagles selected Class 1A All-State. (Kerry Bass/228 Sports)

In Class 6A, Both Anna Hoffmayer and Rhys St. Amant from Ocean Springs and Sydney Mitchell from Gulfport were selected All-State as well as Alexa Palmer and Peyton Russell both of Hancock High.

October 11, 2022: Ocean Springs Anna Hoffmayer (21) serves during a first round MHSAA Playoff volleyball game between Biloxi and Ocean Springs at Ocean Springs, Mississippi. Photo: Bobby McDuffie/228 Sports

East Central’s Makayla Cooper and Morgan Mears were each honored in Class 5A with All-State Staus.

Here are the complete 2022 Mississippi High School Volleyball Coaches’ All-State Teams for all six classes. These all-state teams are voted on by coaches around the state that are members of the Mississippi Association of Coaches.


Coach of the Year: Kelsa Walker, Brandon.

Brooke Bankston, Brandon

Emily Davis, Brandon

Allie Hazelwood, Madison Central

Anna Hoffmayer, Ocean Springs

Ella Grace Holloway, Lewisburg

Emma Levingston, Brandon

Brianna Lyons, Oxford

Reese McIntosh, DeSoto Central

DeAndrea McMillian, Germantown

Sydney Mitchell, Gulfport

Alexa Palmer, Hancock

Peyton Russell, Hancock

Nala Salter, Northwest Rankin

Kasey Scruggs, DeSoto Central

Sunni Sheppard, Brandon

Lindsey Smith, Madison Central

Rhys St. Amant, Ocean Springs

Torrey Tkach, Oxford

Diana Wells, Germantown

Claire Wicker, Oxford

October 11, 2022: Ocean Springs Rhys St Amant (1) serves during a first round MHSAA Playoff volleyball game between Biloxi and Ocean Springs at Ocean Springs, Mississippi. Photo: Bobby McDuffie/228 Sports


Coach of the Year: Christina Morgan, Lake Cormorant

Jordyn Burkett, Hattiesburg

Chloe Carr, Lafayette

Makayla Cooper, East Central

Sofia Gonzalez, Lake Cormorant

Caroline Hamm, Saltillo

Harmony Jackson, Lafayette

Morgan Mears, East Central

Kennedy Mullins, Vicksburg

Dallas White, Lake Cormorant

Mya Willis, Neshoba Central

Lundyn Wilson, Lake Cormorant

Kensley Woolbright, New Hope


Coach of the Year: Samantha Brooks, Caledonia

Masey Adams, New Albany

Emily Clark, Caledonia

Adrianna Green, NE Lauderdale

Lilly Henderson, West Lauderdale

Channing Lane, Pontotoc

 Emma McKee, Caledonia

Olivia Miles, West Lauderdale

Reese Moore, Tishomingo County

Kennedy Parker, West Lauderdale

Mollie Rackley, Pontotoc

Amberianna Shorter, New Albany

Sadie Stegall, Pontotoc


Coach of the Year: Emily Corley, OLA

Bailey Coker, Mantachie

Myah Favre, OLA

Sydney Howie, Alcorn Central

Allie Kirkland, Alcorn Central

Amelia Lancaster, Alcorn Central

Caroline Lowery, St. Andrew’s

Avery Matheson, OLA

Ramsey Montgomery, Mantachie

Delaney Perry, Enterprise-Clarke

Celestina Retumban, St. Andrew’s

Maggie Sewell, St. Andrew’s

Annalaura Williford, OLA


Coach of the Year: Stephanie Cleveland, Belmont

Samantha Alliston, Sacred Heart

Carson Bennett, Potts Camp

Hannah Buckley, Stringer

Kayleigh Doughlas, Stringer

Meredith Eaton, Belmont

Ameze Ekunwe, Sacred Heart

Sarah Gallardo, Sacred Heart

Kerstin Moody, Belmont

Sadie Randolph, Belmont

Cadence Rolison, Walnut

Madilyn Vuncannon, Walnut

Madison Weeks, Walnut


Coach of the Year: Andy Wilbanks, Ingomar

Keunna Bridges, Salem

Sophie Sisson, Resurrection

Haley Callahan, Resurrection

Lindsey Dillard, Ingomar

Gabriyunna Frank, West Bolivar

Taylor Hamilton, Noxapater

Amelia Kate Frederic, Resurrection

Maddie Parker, Noxapater

Macie Phifer, Ingomar

Marissa Pollard, Salem

Kelby Seales, Smithville


Written by Curtis Rockwell

Curtis has almost three decades of experience at four different daily newspapers across South Mississippi, specializing in Sports and live Music.


Leave a Reply

What do you think?

Dr. Nashlie Sephus

Dr. Nashlie Sephus Is Building a Tech-Hub of Opportunity in Jackson

Twelfth Night Celebration in Biloxi Kicks Off Mardi Gras Season