64.83 F
November 24, 2020
LOP scholars
Education Featured Slider

Three MGCCC students named Leaders of Promise Scholars

Three Phi Theta Kappa students from Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College’s Jackson County Campus have been named 2018 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars. Katlyn Scott, Kim Lowery and Riley Brown, all sophomores, will receive $1,000 scholarships for the 2018-2019 school year. Scott, a nursing student from Hurley, said that the scholarship will help pay for textbooks and part of her tuition. “I plan to continue on in college and eventually get my doctorate in nursing,” she said. “Scholarships like this one help prevent me from going into debt as I work toward my goals.” Scott is a member of Phi Theta Kappa, Honors College and the Student Government Association and is president of the campus chapter of Circle K International. Lowery, also a nursing student, is from Ocean Springs. She plans to work toward becoming a nurse practitioner after completing her degree at MGCCC.

“The Leaders of Promise Scholarship will help offset tuition. I’m so happy to receive it,” said Lowery, who is a member of Phi Theta Kappa, Honors College, Reflections Team, Circle K International and the Student Government Association. Riley Brown of Gautier is majoring in biomedical engineering with a focus in pre-medicine. She said she plans to go to medical school. She is president of Jackson County Campus’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter and is a member of Honors College, Reflections Team, the Student Government Association and Circle K International. “Phi Theta Kappa offers its members tremendous scholarship opportunities for both their time at the community college level and when they transfer to a university,” she said. “It is an awesome organization in which I would encourage any student to get involved.”

The Leaders of Promise Scholarship Program was launched in 2001 to assist new Phi Theta Kappa members in obtaining an associate degree and encourage participation in Society programs. Sponsored by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, the program recognizes 200 Phi Theta Kappa members with scholarship awards totaling $200,000. Pictured from left: Katlyn Scott, Kim Lowery and Riley Brown, 2018 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars

Related posts

VT Halter Marine Starts Construction on America’s First Offshore LNG ATB Unit


What are the Top 10 Christmas Movies Ever?

Richard Lucas

A Bell Worth Ringing for the Holidays

Mark W. LaSalle, Ph.D.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More