10 MGCCC Students Named to the PTK All-Mississippi Academic Team

Ten Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College students were named to the Phi Theta Kappa All-Mississippi Academic Team.

One student, Christopher Austin Baldwin, from the Jefferson Davis Campus, was named to the First Team.  MGCCC students named to the Second Team were Madison Blaylock and Malik Stapleton, Perkinston Campus; Morgan Rich and Edgar Rodriguez-Marquez, Jackson County Campus; Gloria Giddes and Reginald Brown, Jefferson Davis Campus; and Dara Estis, Taylor Gordon and Yancey Hembree, George County Center.

Each two-year college in Mississippi may nominate students to the All-Mississippi Academic Team. Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community. First Team and Second Team rankings are based on their scores in the national All-USA competition.

Students receive a legislative resolution and medallions at an annual recognition ceremony sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa, community college presidents and the Mississippi Community College Board. The ceremony, usually held at the state Capitol in Jackson, has not been rescheduled for this year.


Written by KMcAdams66


Leave a Reply

What do you think?

Studying in Union Starbucks

MSU Summer Classes to Be Held Online, With More Options Available


MSU’s Newest Goldwater Scholar Recipient Passionate About Finding Cure for Cancer